The Old Hit Parad

The Central Branch of the St. Louis Public Library (1301 Olive Street; 314-241-2288 or has stood downtown for 101 years. In that time musical styles have come and gone, but some things remain classics — like the library itself, but also the music of Tchaikovsky, Debussy and Verdi. Tonight at 6 p.m. a string quartet comprising St. Louis Symphony Orchestra musicians perform a selection of works from the early days of the building's long history. The concert, part of the symphony's St. Louis Landmarks Series, features Xiaoxiao Qiang and Jooyeon Kong on violins, Morris Jacob on viola and cellist Anne Fagerburg. Admission is free.
Mon., Oct. 7, 2013

About The Author

Scroll to read more Arts Stories & Interviews articles (1)
Join the Riverfront Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join Riverfront Times Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.