LCD Soundsystem

Sound of Silver (DFA/Capitol)

LCD Soundsystem: Sound of Silver

James Murphy creates intelligent dance music by forging a canny, self-conscious blend of new-wave nostalgia, skittering breaks and wry wit. (He did, after all, almost write for Seinfeld.) Murphy's second full-length is more luxurious than his debut, apparently because he spent even more time crafting his slacker-operatic paeans. He acknowledges the approach on the slow-building opener, "Get Innocuous": "When once you have believed it/Now you see it sucking you in/To string you along with a pretense/And pave the way for the coming release." Sound of Silver is a front-loaded nine-song set that collects the four best tracks one after another, leaving only an intermittently interesting second half. But oh, those tracks: the irresistible single "North American Scum" sounds like Beck and Daft Punk covering Talking Heads' "Life During Wartime"; "Time to Get Away" unleashes more cowbell and Gang of Four guitar, while the fishtailing, goth-inflected synthpop of "Someone Great" and the arch New Order shimmer of "All My Friends" leave no doubt when Murphy grew up. Though the rest of Silver is a mixed bag, it's sculpted well enough to make it worth the ride.

About The Author

Scroll to read more Music News & Interviews articles (1)
Join the Riverfront Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join Riverfront Times Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.