Support Local Journalism. Join Riverfront Times Press Club.

Friday, February 12, 2010

Caption This: Rockabye Baby!, Lullaby Renditions of Journey

Posted By on Fri, Feb 12, 2010 at 2:43 PM

The Rockabye Baby!: Lullaby Renditions of... series is self-explanatory. Each release focuses on making tunes from one rock band palatable enough for the naptime set. Past volumes have featured Metallica, Tool, Beach Boys, Coldplay, the Pixies and the Beatles. However, the latest one to cross my desk is a collection of slowed-down, softened Journey tunes. "Don't Stop Believin'" features a croaking frog(!), while chimes, marimbas and twinkling percussion burnish "Who's Crying Now" and "Wheel in the Sky." And heck, "Lovin' Touchin', Squeezin'" is almost funky -- despite the molasses tempo, the percussion flourishes show some serious sass. The artwork for these releases is almost as cute -- see below. It's also our "Caption This!" honoree of the week.


Tags: ,

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Riverfront Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Riverfront Times Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

January 19, 2022

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

© 2022 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation