Support Local Journalism. Join Riverfront Times Press Club.

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse's Dark Night of the Soul (Finally) Gets an Official Release

Posted By on Thu, Jul 22, 2010 at 1:45 PM

David Lynch, Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse - EMI RECORDS
  • EMI Records
  • David Lynch, Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse

Last spring, the late Mark Linkous (a.k.a. the man behind Sparklehorse) attempted to release what would be one of his final projects, Dark Night of the Soul. The album was a collaboration between Linkous and infamous musician/producer, Danger Mouse. The idea came to them when working together on Sparklehorse's Dreamt for Light Years in the Belly of a Mountain in 2006.

According to NPR, Linkous was uncomfortable singing most of the tracks that he'd written, so Brian Burton (a.k.a. Danger Mouse) suggested they invite other artists to sing the tracks for him.

The result was a star-studded recording, featuring vocal tracks from the likes of the Flaming Lips, Iggy Pop, David Lynch and the late Vic Chesnutt (to whom the project is also dedicated).

Initially, EMI had a conflict with Danger Mouse and refused to release the album. David Lynch had taken an interest in the project, and he created a series of photographs inspired by the album. In lieu of a formal release, it was decided to release the photographs as a book and include a blank CD so the album (which had since leaked) could be downloaded and burned.

Since this informal release, negotiations between Danger Mouse and EMI have continued, and a CD and LP release date was scheduled for last week.

This change of heart could largely be due to sympathy inspired by Mark Linkous' recent suicide.


1. "Revenge" (featuring The Flaming Lips) - 4:52 2. "Just War" (featuring Gruff Rhys) - 3:44 3. "Jaykub" (featuring Jason Lytle) - 3:52 4. "Little Girl" (featuring Julian Casablancas) - 4:33 5. "Angel's Harp" (featuring Black Francis) - 2:57 6. "Pain" (featuring Iggy Pop) - 2:49 7. "Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It)" (featuring David Lynch) - 3:10 8. "Everytime I'm with You" (featuring Jason Lytle) - 3:09 9. "Insane Lullaby" (featuring James Mercer) - 3:12 10. "Daddy's Gone" (featuring Nina Persson) - 3:09 11. "The Man Who Played God" (featuring Suzanne Vega) - 3:09 12. "Grim Augury" (featuring Vic Chesnutt) - 2:32 13. "Dark Night of the Soul" (featuring David Lynch) - 4:38

Tags: ,

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Riverfront Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Riverfront Times Club for as little as $5 a month.

More by Chrissy Wilmes

Read the Digital Print Issue

November 24, 2021

View more issues


Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

© 2021 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation