Support Local Journalism. Join Riverfront Times Press Club.

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Twitter Litter: 9/11, Rihanna's #Cockclutch and More Twerking

Posted By on Thu, Sep 12, 2013 at 6:45 AM

twitterlitter_500_short.jpg

Getting your celebrity gossip from "TMZ" is soooooo 2009, dude. Each Thursday in "Twitter Litter," RFT Music rounds up the week's best meltdowns, ego battles and WTFness from rockers, rappers and DJs who aren't afraid of a little hashtag action. It's time to take out the trash.

In our previous edition of Twitter Litter, former Disney urchin Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) shocked people with her brand-new furries-loving sexytime body that she rubbed all over the Growing Pains dad's son. This week, musicians are concerned with yet another topic of national importance: remembering the September 11, 2001, attacks (admittedly, it's a bit more somber than Mileygate). But our famous Twitter denizens are divided on how -- or if -- to acknowledge the twelfth anniversary.

Should they offer their own recollections, like Lady Gaga (@ladygaga) and Charlie Daniels (@charliedaniels)?

Should they celebrate the good, like Richard Marx (@richardmarx) and Yoko Ono (@yokoono)?

Should they listen to their own treacly songs, like Mariah Carey (@mariahcarey)?

Or should they say "Yo, fuck this shit!" like Ted Nugent (@tednugent), Andrew W.K. (@andrewwk) and Tyler, The Creator (@fucktyler)?

We at RFT Music have no answers, so we'll just take a cue from Mark Hoppus (@markhoppus):

Music from the butt flute really does unite the world.

On that note, go to page two for some dick jokes!

Tags: ,

Support Local Journalism.
Join the Riverfront Times Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the Riverfront Times Club for as little as $5 a month.

Read the Digital Print Issue

November 24, 2021

View more issues

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

© 2021 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation