You searched for:

  • [X]Calendar
  • [X]Literary Events
Start over

Search Events…

Narrow Search

34 total results

Robert Horsey

Thu., Aug. 23, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes St. Louis author and critical care registered nurse Robert Horsey, who will sign and discuss his new novel, "Gifted"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Gifted" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. JT Stone is the number one recruited high-school basketball phenom from St. Louis. His plans in direct conflict with his mother Loretta Stone’s schemes. Kevin Mills, a man pressed to choose between his marriage or the healthcare career he loves, becomes a trusted friend when their lives meaningfully intersect. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/robert-horsey
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Robert Horsey

Tara Pedroley, Denise Baker, and Markie Jo Crismon

Tue., Aug. 28, 7:30-8:30 p.m.
,

Poetry at the Point on August 28 will feature feature poets Tara Pedroley, Denise Baker, and Markie Jo Crismon. Poetry at the Point is held at the Focal Point in Maplewood on the 4th Tuesday of the month. This reading series invites local and regional poets, and established and up-and-coming poets to share their words. The event is free. Parking is free in the lot on nearby Marietta Avenue or street parking. Refreshments available at the Maya Cafe next door. Free

http://stlouispoetrycenter.org/poetry-at-the-point/
Buy Tickets
The Focal Point (map)
2720 Sutton Blvd
Maplewood
phone 314-560-2778
Tara Pedroley, Denise Baker, and Markie Jo Crismon

Tara Pedroley, Denise Baker, and Markie Jo Crismon

Tue., Aug. 28, 7:30-8:30 p.m.
,

Poetry at the Point on August 28 will feature feature poetsTara Pedroley, Denise Baker, and Markie Jo Crismon. Poetry at the Point is held at The Focal Point in Maplewood on the 4th Tuesday of the month. This reading series invites local and regional poets, and established and up-and-coming poets to share their words. The event is free. The Focal Point is at 2720 Sutton. Parking is free in the lot on nearby Marietta Avenue or street parking. Readings start at 7:30 p.m. Refreshments available at the Maya Cafe next door. Free

http://stlouispoetrycenter.org/poetry-at-the-point/
Buy Tickets
The Focal Point (map)
2720 Sutton Blvd
Maplewood
phone 314-560-2778
Tara Pedroley, Denise Baker, and Markie Jo Crismon

Anders Walker

Wed., Aug. 29, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.colm
,

Left Bank Books welcomes author and Saint Louis University law professor Anders Walker, who will sign and discuss his new book, "The Burning House: Jim Crow and the Making of Modern America"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "The Burning House" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In this dramatic reexamination of the Jim Crow South, Anders Walker demonstrates that racial segregation fostered not simply terror and violence, but also diversity, one of our most celebrated ideals. Free

http://www.left-bank.com/event/anders-walker
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Anders Walker

Carol Ferring Shepley

Thu., Oct. 4, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes award-winning St. Louis author Carol Ferring Shepley, who will sign and discuss the second edition of "St. Louis: An Illustrated Timeline," at this official Launch Party event! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "St. Louis: An Illustrated Timeline" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. With vignettes and vintage photographs, this second edition of "St. Louis: An Illustrated Timeline" delves deeper into the mix of politics, personality and culture that make up the Gateway City. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/carol-shepley
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Carol Ferring Shepley

Colin Wright

Fri., Sept. 7, 7-8:30 p.m.
colin@exilelifestyle.com

It’s never been more important to live with purpose, on purpose. To live intentionally. Colin Wright, the bestselling author, full-time traveler, and host of the Let’s Know Things podcast, is touring North America, speaking about how we perceive the world around us, how we behave based on those perceptions, and how to become who we need to be to face the challenges of today and of tomorrow. For this event, he'll be talking about living intentionally, personal growth, and how the way we behave as individuals influences the shape of our societies. $20

http://BecomingTour.com/STL
Buy Tickets
Ethical Society of St. Louis (map)
9001 Clayton Rd
Richmond Heights
phone 314-991-0955

Mary Szybist and Jerry Harp

Mon., Sept. 10, 7:30-8:30 p.m.
,

The Observable Reading Series on September 10 will feature Mary Szybist and Jerry Harp. Brought to you by St. Louis Poetry Center, the Observable Series welcomes poets to Dressel’s Public House (CWE). Reading begins at 7:30 p.m. in the upstairs loft of the restaurant. MARY SZYBIST is most recently the author of Incarnadine, winner of the 2013 National Book Award for Poetry. JERRY HARP’s poetry includes Creature (Salt Publishing, 2003); Gatherings, winner of the 2004 Robert McGovern Prize from Ashland Poetry Press; and Urban Flowers and Concrete Plains (Salt Publishing, 2006). Free, Suggested $5 donation at the door

http://stlouispoetrycenter.org/observable/
Dressel's (map)
419 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-361-1060
Mary Szybist and Jerry Harp

Launch Party: Antony John

Tue., Sept. 11, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
, ,

Left Bank Books welcomes Central West End author Antony John, who will sign and discuss his new novel for middle readers, "Mascot," at this official Launch Party event! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Mascot" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In this funny and heartfelt middle grade stand-alone novel perfect for fans of John David Anderson and RJ Palacio, a boy struggles to come to terms with his new reality after a devastating accident leaves him in a wheelchair. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/antony-john
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Launch Party: Antony John

Craig Johnson

Wed., Sept. 12, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books and the St. Charles City-County Library welcome bestselling author Craig Johnson, who will sign and discuss his new Longmire mystery, "Depth of Winter"! This event is free and open to the public, but registration is required at youranswerplace.org. Proof of purchase of either "Depth of Winter" or "Western Star" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. Welcome to Walt Longmire's worst nightmare. In Craig Johnson’s latest mystery, "Depth of Winter," an international hit man and the head of one a vicious Mexican drug cartel has kidnapped Walt’s beloved daughter, Cady. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/craig-johnson

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin & Giovanni Rigano

Wed., Sept. 12, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
, ,

Left Bank Books welcomes authors Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin and illustrator Giovanna Rigano, who will sign and discuss their new children's graphic novel, "Illegal"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Illegal" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. Ebo's sister left months ago. Now his brother has disappeared too, and Ebo knows that to see them again, he must follow in their footsteps and make the hazardous voyage from Ghana to a safe haven in Europe in this powerful and timely graphic novel. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/colfer-donkin-rigano

DeRay Mckesson

Thu., Sept. 13, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com

Join DeRay Mckesson – the internationally recognized civil rights leader and host of the podcast Pod Save the People – for a timely conversation on culture, social justice, and politics. Ticket Information - A $28 ticket admits one person to the event and includes one copy of "On the Other Side of Freedom" - A $33 ticket admits two people to the event and includes one copy of "On the Other Side of Freedom" and a $5 rebate towards the purchase of a second copy at the event. Tickets available at left-bank.com/mckesson. $28/$33

https://www.left-bank.com/mckesson
Buy Tickets

The Black Experience Book Club

Second Thursday of every month, 7-8 p.m. Continues through Oct. 31
phone 314-252-8337
remi_stew@icloud.com

Upcoming titles: 7/12/18: High Cotton by Darryl Pinckney 8/9/18: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson 9/13/18: The Mothers by Brit Bennett 10/11/18 You Can't Touch My Hair by Phoebe Robinson Free

http://left-bank.com/black-experience
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
The Black Experience Book Club

Scott Westerfeld

Tue., Sept. 18, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com

Left Bank Books welcomes bestselling young adult author Scott Westerfeld, who will sign and discuss the newest novel in the Uglies series, "Impostors"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Impostors" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . two edges of the same knife. But Frey's very existence is a secret. With Impostors, master storyteller Scott Westerfeld returns with a new series set in the world of his mega-bestselling Uglies—a world full of twist and turns, rebellion and intrigue. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/scott-westerfeld
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Scott Westerfeld

Dana Bowman

Wed., Sept. 19, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes bestselling author of "Bottled" and Momsieblog.com Dana Bowman, who will sign and discuss her new book, "How to Be Perfect Like Me"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "How to Be Perfect Like Me" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In this funny and revealing follow-up to her best-selling book "Bottled," Dana Bowman reflects on how we live in a society of excess, always pushing ourselves to do and be better. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/dana-bowman
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Dana Bowman

Story Time with Pat Wahler

Sat., Sept. 22, 2-4 p.m.
phone 314-968-4491
info@bookhousestl.com
, ,

Join us on September 22nd at 2 pm as author Pat Wahler reads "Midnight the One-Eyed Cat" "Because she is different, Midnight the one-eyed cat is bullied by other cats. Heartbroken, she runs home in tears. Now it's up to her most unlikely friend, Starlight the three-legged rat to come up with a plan to help Midnight regain her spirit. This charming story of a sweet cat who learns to overcome her fears, build her confidence, and find she's okay just as she is, takes children on an inspiring journey into the power of friendship and love." Free

http://www.bookhousestl.com/
Buy Tickets
The Book House (map)
7352 Manchester Rd
Maplewood
phone 314-968-4491
Showing 1-15 of 34 total results in this search.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2018 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation