You searched for:

  • [X]Calendar
  • [X]Literary Events
Start over

Search Events…

Narrow Search

29 total results

Local Author Showcase: Cynthia A. Graham

Sat., May 26, 3-4 p.m.
phone 314-738-9384
hello@thenovelneighbor.com
,

Every month The Novel Neighbor gives local authors a special time for discussing and signing their newest titles! For May’s event, we will be hosting Cynthia Graham, with her historical fiction novel, “Beulah’s House of Prayer.” Read more about her book here: http://brickmantelbooks.com/books/beulahs-house-of-prayer.php Free refreshments provided; books will be available for purchase and signing. Free

https://thenovelneighbor.com/event/local-author-showcase/
The Novel Neighbor (map)
7905 Big Bend Blvd
Webster Groves
phone 314-738-9384

Robert Hansman

Wed., May 30, 7-8 p.m.
phone 314-821-5770
rdrinkard@kirkwoodpubliclibrary.org

In the early 1950s, Pruitt-Igoe, a vast public housing project, arose on 57 acres on the near north side of St. Louis. Barely 20 years after construction, the 33 eleven-story buildings that made up the complex were razed, and the vacant land that was once home to thousands of people was gradually reclaimed by a dense, neglected urban forest. What happened in-between is a story that tempts but also defies simple narratives. Robert Hansman's book Pruitt-Igoe is a story of interweaving and competing accounts, both then and now. This volume approaches Pruitt-Igoe with all of its contradiction in mind. free

https://kirkwoodpubliclibrary.org/event/author-talk-and-book-sales-pruitt-igoe-by-robert-hansman/?instance_id=24280
Kirkwood Public Library (map)
140 E. Jefferson
Kirkwood
phone 314-821-5770

Allison Coffelt

Thu., May 31, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes Columbia, MO author Allison Coffelt, who will sign and discuss her new book, "Maps are Lines We Draw: A Road Trip through Haiti," with Maryville University professor Jess Bowers! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Maps are Lines We Draw" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. After a decade of dreaming, Allison Coffelt arrived in Haiti, ready "to learn how much she didn't know" about the Caribbean nation. She embarked on a life-changing journey that would weave Haiti's history and present reality. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/allison-coffelt
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Allison Coffelt

Celebrity Storytime with Daniel Wiseman

Sat., June 2, 10:30 a.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
, ,

Left Bank Books welcomes St. Louis illustrator Daniel Wiseman for a Celebrity Storytime reading of his new picture books, "Play This Book" and "Pet This Book"! These delightful, interactive picture books invite readers to explore instruments and "pet" animals in an exciting, playful reading experience! Strum the guitar, slide the trombone, crash the cymbals, pet the cat, wash the puppy, brush the horse's mane, and more: no instruments or animals required! Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/daniel-wiseman-2
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Celebrity Storytime with Daniel Wiseman

Jared Brock

Mon., June 4, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes film producer, director and author Jared Brock, who will sign and discuss his new book, "The Road to Dawn: Josiah Henson and the Story that Sparked the Civil War"! The event with include a with a screening of the accompanying short documentary about Josiah Henson. This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "The Road to Dawn" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. This sweeping biography immortalizes the man who was the inspiration for Harriet Beecher Stowe's Uncle Tom's Cabin. Free

http://www.left-bank.com/event/jared-brock
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Jared Brock

Michael Castro

Tue., June 5, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes former Laureate of St. Louis Michal Castro, who will read from his collection of new and selected works of poetry, "We Need to Talk"! Michael Castro was the inaugural Poet Laureate of St. Louis. He has published six book of poems, essays and translations and has appeared in in more than 100 magazines and numerous anthologies. In 1975 Castro co-founded the literary organization River Styx and pioneered the poetry radio shows River Styx Poets Radio Show, Ars Poetica and Poetry Beat. In 2000 he was presented with The Guardian Angel of St. Louis Poetry Award. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/michael-castro
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Michael Castro

Growing Up with the River

Wed., June 6, 7-8 p.m.
phone 314-821-5770
rdrinkard@kirkwoodpubliclibrary.org

In Growing Up with the River, you will meet children from nine generations who grew up along the Missouri River from Hermann to St. Charles and share in a long list of adventures and changes they see in the river valley. Growing Up with the River is by Dan and Connie Burkhardt and illustrated by Bryan Haynes. What hasn’t changed in two centuries is the natural scenic beauty of Missouri River Country and the small river communities that sprung up along the river and the railroads. The Arch, one of the most recognized symbols in the world, was created to be a lasting symbol to the Missouri River and the history that unfolded along its banks. free

https://kirkwoodpubliclibrary.org/event/author-and-book-signing-growing-up-with-the-river-by-dan-and-connie-burkhardt-illustrated-by-bryan-haynes/?instance_id=24260
Kirkwood Public Library (map)
140 E. Jefferson
Kirkwood
phone 314-821-5770

Ruth Ware

Thu., June 7, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com

Left Bank Books welcomes #1 New York Times bestselling author of "In A Dark, Dark Wood," "The Woman in Cabin 10" and "The Lying Game" Ruth Ware, who will sign and discuss her new novel, "The Death of Mrs. Westaway"! Ticket Information – A $30 ticket admits ONE person and includes ONE hardcover copy of "The Death of Mrs. Westaway" – A $35 ticket admits TWO people and includes ONE hardcover copy of "The Death of Mrs. Westaway" and a $5 rebate towards the purchase of a second copy at the event Tickets available at left-bank.com/ware. $30/$35

http://www.left-bank.com/ware
Buy Tickets
Ethical Society of St. Louis (map)
9001 Clayton Rd
Richmond Heights
phone 314-991-0955
Ruth Ware

Kat Zhang

Mon., June 11, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes acclaimed local author Kat Zhang, who will sign and discuss her new novel for middle readers, "The Memory of Forgotten Things"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "The Memory of Forgotten Things" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In the tradition of "The Thing About Jellyfish" and "When You Reach Me," acclaimed author Kat Zhang offers a luminous and heartbreaking novel about a girl who is convinced that an upcoming solar eclipse will bring back her dead mother. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/kat-zhang
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Kat Zhang

Dan Abrams

Wed., June 13, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books and Maryville Talks Books welcome ABC News Chief Legal Affairs Anchor Dan Abrams, who will sign and discuss his new book, "Lincoln's Last Trial: The Murder Case that Propelled Him to the Presidency"! This event is free and open to the public, but RSVPs are required at left-bank.com/abrams. Proof of purchase of "Lincoln's Last Trial" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. "Lincoln’s Last Trial" captures a young Abraham Lincoln's dramatic courtroom confrontations in vivid detail as he fights for his client—but also for his own blossoming political future. Free

http://www.left-bank.com/abrams
Maryville University of St. Louis (map)
650 Maryville University Dr
Creve Coeur
phone 314-529-9300
Dan Abrams

Gateway Con Free Book Fair

Fri., June 15, 3-10 p.m., Sat., June 16, 10 a.m.-10 p.m. and Sun., June 17, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
phone 314-608-9580
President@stlwritersguild.org
,

This free Book Fair is held in conjunction with Gateway Con Writers Conference and Convention. Meet your favorite local authors and new ones at the St. Louis Renaissance Hotel. There will also be a free Young Writers Event with workshops and a contest! Visit www.stlwritersguild.org/gatewaycon.html for more info, and the updated schedule as the Book Fair gets closer. Free

http://www.stlwritersguild.org/gatewaycon.html

Amy Spalding

Sat., June 16, 4 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
, ,

Left Bank Books welcomes author and St. Louis native Amy Spalding, who will sign and discuss her new young adult novel, "The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the Best Burger in Los Angeles)"! This event is free and open to the public, but book purchase is required for signing. Seventeen, fashion-obsessed, and gay, Abby Ives has always been content playing the sidekick in other people’s lives, happy to focus on her plus-size style blog and her dreams of taking the fashion industry by storm. Then she falls for her fellow intern, Jordi Perez. Hard. Free

http://www.left-bank.com/event/amy-spalding
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Amy Spalding

Edward M. Hallowell, MD

Sat., June 16, 4-6 p.m.
dkey@vdoh.org.

Edward M. Hallowell, MD, a noted authority on ADHD, will talk about his heartwarming, humorous new memoir called, “Because I Come From a Crazy Family: The Making of a Psychiatrist,” a paean to the mentally ill and those who love them, at Villa Duchesne and Oak Hill School located at 801 S. Spoede Rd. in Frontenac on June 16 at 4 p.m. Registration is required to attend. For more information email dkey@vdoh.org. Free

SF STL: Sabaa Tahir

Tue., June 19, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books and Archon present an SF STL event with bestselling author Sabaa Tahir, who will sign and discuss the third book in the Ember Quartet, "A Reaper at the Gates," with Setsu Uzume! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of any of the books in the Ember Quartet series from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. Beyond the Martial Empire and within it, the threat of war looms in A Reaper at the Gates, the highly anticipated third book in Sabaa Tahir's Ember Quartet. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/sabaa-tahir
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
SF STL: Sabaa Tahir

Carey Gillam

Thu., June 28, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes veteran journalist Carey Gillam, who will sign and discuss her new book, "Whitewash: The Story of a Weed Killer, Cancer, and the Corruption of Science"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Whitewash" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In "Whitewash," veteran journalist Carey Gillam lays bare disturbing details about the 40-year push to prominence of the world’s most popular pesticide: glyphosate, known commonly as Monsanto’s Roundup. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/carey-gillam
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Carey Gillam
Showing 1-15 of 29 total results in this search.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2018 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation