You searched for:

  • [X]St. Louis - Downtown/ Midtown
  • [X]St. Louis - Central West End
Start over

Search Events…

Narrow Search

67 total results

Jeremy R. Brooks

Tuesdays-Saturdays, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Continues through Aug. 31

Ceramicist Jeremy R. Brooks is currently based in Carbondale, Illinois, where he's teaching at Southern Illinois University. His own studies include an unusual type of clay with a rubber-like elasticity that sets up quickly. Working quickly, he extrudes paper-like slabs and long coils, which he can then use for knitting, weaving or crocheting. The resulting forms have a plasticity that seems nearly impossible. Knitted vessels made from delicate strands of clay, sinuous loops of loosely bunched clay-yarn, a rainbow skein of fibers wrapped around itself that approximates the whorls and shape of a brain — Brooks' work is both trompe l'oeil and trompe l'clay. A small exhibition of Brooks' ceramics go on display this weekend at the Duane Reed Gallery (4729 McPherson Avenue; www.duanereedgallery.com), along with Brian Smith's abstract paintings. The show opens with a free reception from 5 to 8 p.m. Friday, July 20, and remains on display 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.. Tuesday through Saturday through August 31. free admission

Duane Reed Gallery (map)
4729 McPherson Ave.
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-361-4100
Jeremy R. Brooks

Painted Pieces: Art Chess from Purling London

Mondays, Tuesdays, Saturdays, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Sundays, 12-5 p.m. and Wednesdays-Fridays, 10 a.m.-9 p.m. Continues through Sept. 16

The standard chess set has been reimagined in multiple formats, using everything from Simpsons characters to loaded shot glasses. The new exhibition at the World Chess Hall of Fame sees regulation Staunton sets done up with a fresh coat of paint, which doesn't sound all that impressive. But when it's artists such as Caio Locke, Sophie Matisse and Thierry Noir wielding the brushes, the results are dazzling. Painted Pieces: Art Chess from Purling London features vibrant, hand-painted chess sets exploding with color and invention. Painted Pieces opens with a free reception from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 12, at the World Chess Hall of Fame (4652 Maryland Avenue; www.worldchesshof.org). The show remains up through September 16. free admission

Michael Kinch

Thu., Aug. 16, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes author and Washington University Vice Chancellor Michael Kinch, who will sign and discuss his new book, "Between Hope and Fear: A History of Vaccines and Human Immunity"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Between Hope and Fear" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. "Between Hope and Fear" tells the remarkable story of vaccine-preventable infectious diseases and their social and political implications." Kinch reveals the ominous reality that our victories against vaccine-preventable diseases are not permanent—and could easily be undone. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/michael-kinch
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Michael Kinch

Lost in the Stars

Fri., Aug. 17, 8-10:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 18, 8-10:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 24, 8-10:30 p.m. and Sat., Aug. 25, 8-10:30 p.m.
phone 314-361-2881
info@unionavenueopera.org

@ Union Avenue Opera, 733 N. Union Blvd 63108
Merging influences from Broadway, traditional African music, jazz, and blues, Kurt Weill’s final work for the stage is a gripping musical tragedy based on Alan Paton’s novel Cry, the Beloved Country. Set in 1940s South Africa apartheid, Lost in the Stars soars with thrilling operatic passages as it lays bare the tragedy of social barriers among all people, ending with a moving promise of reconciliation and hope for the future. $32-$55 for single tickets; subscriptions starting at $80

https://unionavenueopera.org/2018-festival-season-2/
Buy Tickets

Maybe This Time

Fri., Aug. 17, 8-9:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 18, 8-9:30 p.m. and Sun., Aug. 19, 2-3:30 p.m.
docmmm2@gmail.com

Michael Madden, a native of St Louis, is bringing to town his award-winning comedy about the pains, passions and possibilities of online dating. Directed by Pamela Reckamp, “Maybe This Time” will be performed at the Gaslight Theatre in Central West End on Friday, August 17 and Saturday, August 18 @ 8:00pm and Sunday, August 19 @ 2:00pm. Valet Parking Friday/Saturday. Watch four different first dates while also hearing what their brains are actually thinking. Funny and poignant, it’s an insight to how relationships do or don’t start. $20 Adults $17 Seniors (>65) and Active Military

Buy Tickets

Robert Horsey

Thu., Aug. 23, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes St. Louis author and critical care registered nurse Robert Horsey, who will sign and discuss his new novel, "Gifted"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Gifted" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. JT Stone is the number one recruited high-school basketball phenom from St. Louis. His plans in direct conflict with his mother Loretta Stone’s schemes. Kevin Mills, a man pressed to choose between his marriage or the healthcare career he loves, becomes a trusted friend when their lives meaningfully intersect. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/robert-horsey
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Robert Horsey

Anders Walker

Wed., Aug. 29, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.colm
,

Left Bank Books welcomes author and Saint Louis University law professor Anders Walker, who will sign and discuss his new book, "The Burning House: Jim Crow and the Making of Modern America"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "The Burning House" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In this dramatic reexamination of the Jim Crow South, Anders Walker demonstrates that racial segregation fostered not simply terror and violence, but also diversity, one of our most celebrated ideals. Free

http://www.left-bank.com/event/anders-walker
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Anders Walker

Carol Ferring Shepley

Thu., Oct. 4, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
,

Left Bank Books welcomes award-winning St. Louis author Carol Ferring Shepley, who will sign and discuss the second edition of "St. Louis: An Illustrated Timeline," at this official Launch Party event! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "St. Louis: An Illustrated Timeline" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. With vignettes and vintage photographs, this second edition of "St. Louis: An Illustrated Timeline" delves deeper into the mix of politics, personality and culture that make up the Gateway City. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/carol-shepley
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Carol Ferring Shepley

Mary Szybist and Jerry Harp

Mon., Sept. 10, 7:30-8:30 p.m.
,

The Observable Reading Series on September 10 will feature Mary Szybist and Jerry Harp. Brought to you by St. Louis Poetry Center, the Observable Series welcomes poets to Dressel’s Public House (CWE). Reading begins at 7:30 p.m. in the upstairs loft of the restaurant. MARY SZYBIST is most recently the author of Incarnadine, winner of the 2013 National Book Award for Poetry. JERRY HARP’s poetry includes Creature (Salt Publishing, 2003); Gatherings, winner of the 2004 Robert McGovern Prize from Ashland Poetry Press; and Urban Flowers and Concrete Plains (Salt Publishing, 2006). Free, Suggested $5 donation at the door

http://stlouispoetrycenter.org/observable/
Dressel's (map)
419 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-361-1060
Mary Szybist and Jerry Harp

Launch Party: Antony John

Tue., Sept. 11, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
, ,

Left Bank Books welcomes Central West End author Antony John, who will sign and discuss his new novel for middle readers, "Mascot," at this official Launch Party event! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Mascot" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. In this funny and heartfelt middle grade stand-alone novel perfect for fans of John David Anderson and RJ Palacio, a boy struggles to come to terms with his new reality after a devastating accident leaves him in a wheelchair. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/antony-john
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
Launch Party: Antony John

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin & Giovanni Rigano

Wed., Sept. 12, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com
, ,

Left Bank Books welcomes authors Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin and illustrator Giovanna Rigano, who will sign and discuss their new children's graphic novel, "Illegal"! This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of "Illegal" from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. Ebo's sister left months ago. Now his brother has disappeared too, and Ebo knows that to see them again, he must follow in their footsteps and make the hazardous voyage from Ghana to a safe haven in Europe in this powerful and timely graphic novel. Free

https://www.left-bank.com/event/colfer-donkin-rigano

Opening Reception: Nancy Callan, Luanne Rimel, & Mary Borgman

Thu., Sept. 13, 5-8 p.m.

Solo Exhibitions by Nancy Callan & Luanna Rimel with pop up by Mary Borgman

Duane Reed Gallery (map)
4729 McPherson Ave.
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-361-4100
Opening Reception: Nancy Callan, Luanne Rimel, & Mary Borgman

DeRay Mckesson

Thu., Sept. 13, 7 p.m.
phone 314-367-6731
info@left-bank.com

Join DeRay Mckesson – the internationally recognized civil rights leader and host of the podcast Pod Save the People – for a timely conversation on culture, social justice, and politics. Ticket Information - A $28 ticket admits one person to the event and includes one copy of "On the Other Side of Freedom" - A $33 ticket admits two people to the event and includes one copy of "On the Other Side of Freedom" and a $5 rebate towards the purchase of a second copy at the event. Tickets available at left-bank.com/mckesson. $28/$33

https://www.left-bank.com/mckesson
Buy Tickets

The Black Experience Book Club

Second Thursday of every month, 7-8 p.m. Continues through Oct. 31
phone 314-252-8337
remi_stew@icloud.com

Upcoming titles: 7/12/18: High Cotton by Darryl Pinckney 8/9/18: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson 9/13/18: The Mothers by Brit Bennett 10/11/18 You Can't Touch My Hair by Phoebe Robinson Free

http://left-bank.com/black-experience
Left Bank Books (map)
399 N Euclid Ave
St. Louis - Central West End
phone 314-367-6731
The Black Experience Book Club

SeptembERotica: The Art Show

Fri., Sept. 14, 7-11 p.m.
phone 314-881-8278
Events@GLoveBoxX.com

GLoveBoxX Arts & Ent. presents … septembERotica: The Art Show, a fun, entertaining and interactive sensory experience celebrating the ART of eroticism while reclaiming the Black Body and exalting Black Sensuality through: Visual, Performing and Live Art Contests & Prizes Vending & More! Visit www.GLoveBoxX.com for artist listing and updates! $15 adv / $20 door

http://gloveboxx.com/portfolios/septemberotica-the-art-show/
Buy Tickets
Showing 1-15 of 67 total results in this search.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.


© 2018 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation