Join Riverfront Times Press Club. Because No News is Bad News.

Shakespeare Festival St. Louis has staged comedies and tragedies in equal measure in Forest Park for the past decade. This year the group takes an ambitious tack, choosing not one but two of Shakespeare's histories. Did we say ambitious? We meant Olympic. Henry IV and Henry V are on the bill, and they tell nothing less than the development of a boy becoming a man and the man becoming a king. The younger Henry is known as Hal when we first meet him in Henry IV, and he's something of a rake. He pals around with heavyweight carouser Falstaff, who practices casual brigandage when short of funds -- and the big man is always short of funds. The older Henry is Hal's father, and he's about to pit the future of his newly won kingdom on the successful quelling of a baronial revolt, but the old man is riven by doubt about the nature of his boy. When will his son take life seriously? Hal needs a push, but he gets there in the end. And then in Henry V, Hal shows proves his mettle with an invasion of France -- but that's next week. Henry IV is performed at 8 p.m. Thursday through Saturday (May 15 through 17), while Henry V is at 8 p.m. Thursday through Saturday (May 22 through 24). The two shows alternate nightly through Sunday, June 15, but there are no performances on Tuesday. It all goes down in Shakespeare Glen, just off Art Hill in Forest Park. Call 314-531-9800 or visit www.sfstl.com for more information.
May 15-17, 8 p.m.; Wed., May 28, 8 p.m.; Fri., May 30, 8 p.m.; Sun., June 1, 8 p.m.; Wed., June 4, 8 p.m.; Fri., June 6, 8 p.m.; Sat., June 7, 8 p.m.; Sun., June 8, 8 p.m.; Wed., June 11, 8 p.m.; Fri., June 13, 8 p.m.; Sat., June 14, 8 p.m., 2014

Riverfront Times works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of St. Louis and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep St. Louis' true free press free.

Related Locations

Latest in Night & Day

Read the Digital Print Issue

August 12, 2020

View more issues

Newsletters

Never miss a beat

Sign Up Now

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

Best Things to Do In St. Louis

© 2020 Riverfront Times

Website powered by Foundation