The Draft

7 p.m. Friday, September 29. Creepy Crawl, (3524 Washington Boulevard)

The Draft

$10 to $12. 314-531-3888.

It's a testament to their integrity that after frontman Chuck Ragan left their ranks this year, Hot Water Music core members Chris Wollard (vocals/guitar), Jason Black (bass) and George Rebelo (drums) didn't just continue under the HWM moniker. (Explains Black: "We always said that the minute one of us walked away from Hot Water, that was it.") And so the trio brought in new guitarist Todd Rockhill (ex-Discount), christened themselves the Draft and started over. The result of their efforts, as heard on the recent In a Million Pieces, uses HWM's propulsive, melodic sound as a launching pad for previously unexplored ideas, from the Soul Asylum-on-steroids vibe of "New Eyes Open" and the ska inflections of "Let It Go" to the xylophone-accented rock & roll swagger of "All We Can Count On."
Scroll to read more Music News & Interviews articles


Join Riverfront Times Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.